Main content

Hivos hosts an online conversation for and by journalists:

Join us on 4 May 2020 at 9 AM EDT / 4 PM EAT / 9 PM PST.

Across the world, the investigative data-driven journalism community has been reporting the Covid-19 crisis. However, collecting and reporting critical public health data has been challenged across countries. Access to information rights have been limited or suspended as a consequence of the Corona crisis. In some cases, governments have moved to restrict journalists’ right to report on the corona crisis itself, under threat of prosecution. 

How are journalists reporting on public procurement during a public health crisis? How has the pandemic affected access to information in general and to contracting data? How do citizens receive investigations? How can journalists collaborate across countries and regions? 

Please join this online conversation where we will answer these questions and look for trends and red flags, challenges and ways forward. 

Speakers

Claudia Ocaranza  (PODER, Mexico)
Claudia Ocaranza is an investigative journalist working on corporate issues, with a special perspective on transparency and accountability.

Karol Ilagan (PCIJ, Philippines)
Karol Ilagan is a senior reporter at the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism where she covers money and politics.

Purity Mukami (Africa Uncensored, Kenya)
Purity Mukami is a data journalist at Africa Uncensored (AU). She is an expert in open source investigations and fact-checking techniques.

Moderation by Hivos

Register Here